Visa & entry requirements for Munich

Visa & entry requirements for Munich

Do you know which documents you'll need to travel to Germany? Plan ahead and find out whether you need your passport, visa, national ID or all of the above!

Passport or National ID

Munich is located in Germany, in the European Union, making it part of the Schengen Area. This means that EU nationals and citizens of 62 other countries only need their passport (with at least four months validity from the planned departure date) or national identity card to enter as tourists for a period of up to 90 days.

EU, EEA and Swiss Citizens

As citizens of the European Union and European Economic Area, you will not need a visa to enter the country. A valid passport or national identity card is required.

EU member countries
Germany, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, United Kingdom*, Czech Republic, Romania and Sweden.

EEA countries
Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. 

*Please check the UK Government's Foreign Travel Advice website for up to date advice regarding travel, entry requirements and Brexit.

US Citizens

American citizens traveling to Germany for less than 90 days do not need a visa. However, they will need a valid passport for at least six months beyond their stay. Immigration officers may also ask citizens to show enough funds for their stay and a return airline ticket.

Australian Citizens

Australian citizens visiting Germany or any other European country in the Schengen Convention (all EU states minus Britain and Ireland, plus Switzerland) for less than 90 days do not require a visa. Passports need to have at least six-month validity from the planned date of return.

In addition to the countries listed above, citizens of the following countries have the right to enter Germany without a visa as tourists for a period of up to 90 days:

Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, El Salvador, Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Macao, Macedonia, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent, Samoa, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Taiwan, Timor Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatican City, Venezuela.


If you are not a citizen of an EU country or one of the nations listed above, we recommend visiting your country's German Embassy or checking the website of the German Federal Foreign Office for more information.